Thursday, December 15, 2011


Versions Of HTML

HTML 2.0

HTML 2.0 was developed by the Internet Engineering Task Force HTML Working Group in 1996.
HTML 2.0 is an outdated version of HTML. For a Web developer there is no need to study the HTML 2.0 standard.

HTML 3.2

HTML 3.2 became a W3C Recommendation 14. January 1997. HTML 3.2 added new features such as fonts, tables, applets, superscripts, subscripts and more, to the existing HTML 2.0 standard.
One of the elements added to the HTML 3.2 standard, was the <font> tag. This tag introduced unnecessary complexity to the important task of separating HTML content (text) from its presentation (style). The <font> tag became deprecated in HTML 4.0.

HTML 4.0

HTML 4.0 became a W3C Recommendation 18. December 1997. A second release was issued on 24. April 1998 with only some editorial corrections.
The most important feature of HTML 4.0 was the introduction of style sheets (CSS).

HTML 4.01

HTML 4.01 became a W3C Recommendation 24. December 1999.
HTML 4.01 was a minor update of corrections and bug-fixes from HTML 4.0.


XHTML 1.0 reformulates HTML 4.01 in XML.


HTML 5 improves interoperability, and reduces development costs, by making precise rules on how to handle all HTML elements, and how to recover from errors.
Some of the new features in HTML 5 are functions for embedding audio, video, graphics, client-side data storage, and interactive documents.
HTML 5 also contains new elements like <nav>, <header>, <footer>, and <figure>.
The HTML 5 working group includes AOL, Apple, Google, IBM, Microsoft, Mozilla, Nokia, Opera, and many hundred other vendors.

HTML 3.2 14. January 1997
HTML 4.0 24. April 1998
HTML 4.01 24. December 1999
HTML 5 19. October 2010 (latest draft)

1 comment: